St Jude Maronite Catholic Church of Murray Utah  
A Parish of the Eparchy of Our Lady of Lebanon
Father Joubran BouMerhi


The church is excited to say that we have moved to a new location.  Please come and visit the new location.

5445 S. 2700 W, Taylorsville
UT 84129
20200216 093613

Mysteries of the Holy Rosary

The rosary calls to mind the most important events in the lives of Jesus and Mary.  these events are called Mysteries.  There are twenty mysteries (Gospel stories), and they are divided info four groups: five are Joyful, usually said on Mondays and Saturdays; five are Luminous (Thursdays); five are Sorrowful (Tuesday and Fridays); five and Glorious (Wednesday and Sundays).

The five Joyful Mysteries are:

  • The Ammunication (LK 1:26-38) -Humility
  • The Visitation (LK 1:39-45) - Love of Neighbor
  • The Birth of Jesus (LK 2:1-7) - Detachment from the THINGS of the WORLD
  • The Presentation (LK 2:21-40 - Obedience; Purity
  • The Findings of Jesus in the templte (LK 2:41-50) - True Wisdom; Piety; true Conversion

The Five Mysteries of Light (Luminous) are:

  • The Baptism of the Lord (Mt 1:13-17) – Openness to the HOLY SPIRIT
  • The Wedding of Canna (Jn 2:1-12) – To Jesus Through Mary
  • The Proclamation of the Kingdom (Mk1:15; Mk 2:3-13; Lk 7:47-48; Jn 20:22-23) – Trust in God
  • The Transfiguration (Lk 9:28-37) – Desire for Holiness
  • The Institution of the Eucharist (Mk 14:22-25; Jn 13:1) – Adoration

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries are:

  • The Agony in the Garden (Lk 22:39-46) – Sorrow for Sin
  • The Scourging (Jn 19:1) – Mortification; Purity
  • The Crowning with Thorns (Mk 27:27) – Courage; Contempt of the World
  • The Carrying of the Cross (Jn 19:17-22) – Patience
  • The Crucifixion (Lk 23:44-49) – Salvation; Forgiveness

The Five Glorious Mysteries are:

  • The Resurrection (Jn 20:1-18) – Faith
  • The Ascension (Lk 24:50-53) – Hope; Desire for Heaven
  • The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Act 2:1-13) – Divine Charity; Holy Wisdom to know the Truth and Share it with everyone; Worship of the Holy Spirit
  • The Assumption of Our Lady (Pope Pius XII : Assumption Dogma 1950) – Grace of a Happy Death; True Devotion towards Mary
  • The Coronation of Our Lady (Rv 12:13) – Perseverance; Trust in Mary’s Intercession

... Think of each story and/or virtue while you are saying the decade.